5 comments on “Does the LDS (Mormon) Church have a problem on its hands?

  1. Hi, a friend of mine pointed me to this post. I think it’s the same “friend” we have in common. Thank you for posting this. It gives a fantastic synopsis of what went down on my blog as well as adding your own voice to it. Another voice. We need more voices.

    I’m so glad to see that there are so many other people who believe the same as I do, and that they are feeling more and more safe to voice their opinions. If the Church doesn’t change it’s stance, it has that right. But we can still show our support for our neighbors and friends in getting their civil rights. The marriage aspect of this is a civil issue.

    That being said, how we treat people who are gay, lesbian, transgendered or bisexual to me IS a religious issue. I think about how Christ treated the woman who was taken up in adultery. He didn’t say, “They caught her in the act, let’s throw rocks at her!” Nope. He loved her and said what we all need to know, “Let he among you without sin cast the first stone.” (It reminds me of the Simpson’s episode where Homer said that and gets hit by a rock thrown by one Flander’s kids ‘got him, dad!’) Even if someone does believe that being gay is a sin (I do not), it does not give them the right to cast stones.

    And within the church, we need to accept people no matter what their views are. The members who posted the angriest things were the ones that made me WANT to leave the church, not stay in it. They need to realize what their words do. Church is for sinners. Everyone should be welcome.

    Wow. his has been a whole post on its own. Sorry.

    Thanks again.

    • First and foremost I hope I didn’t reveal to much about said “friend” or created a situation where Friend has been outed before Friend wanted to be outed. If that’s the case, I apologize profusely.

      If your experience has been like mine, those who say “mean” things (I’m not always convinced they think they’re being mean) tend to be the ones who don’t know me or my family on a personal level but make assumptions about me based on one small aspect of my life: I’m gay. (Which is coincidental because Mormon leaders teach gay Mormons not to define themselves by that one aspect).

      I have the same problem, though. I tend to make assumptions about religious people based on one small aspect of their lives: their belief in God. The assumption being that people who believe in God oppose marriage equality. I really loved seeing people come out of the wood work to show me that’s not always the case. And I think I’m seeing a trend in lay members of the Church in favor of marriage equality.

      I empathize with what you might be going through. Reading your blog reminded me of what it was like when I came out on my blog. Some people were lovers and others were haters. Some people unfriended me on Facebook, and others became more active on Facebook (and we learned we have more in common than we knew before).

  2. I read your blog, but never comment. However, I do comment on your Facebook a lot, so I assume you know a bit how I feel about this. I don’t think the church as a whole has to change its stance on gay marriage for things to improve. I would love for that to happen, but I can also understand why it wouldn’t. My hope is that they never publicly support an initiative against gay marriage again. I also hope that they never penalize anyone for supporting gay marriage (I doubt that they will). As long as these two things never happen, I don’t see the church “having a problem on its hands.” I do think that as time goes by, younger generations are beginning to support gay marriage much more. For every hateful comment I’ve had about my support of gay marriage, I’ve had several more respectful ones. My hope is not that every member or apostle will support gay marriage. That’s exactly what many non-supporters want right now (for every person not to support it). What I want is for the church to get back to its message of love and respect of others and for those that don’t agree with the supporters to do the same. I think this will happen with time. I see many more supporters coming with younger generations. In time, those generations will be our apostles and prophets. My worry is that those people will be discouraged and leave a church they believe in just because ignorant members alienate them for being different. I think all of us have to ban together and stick with it so that we can be the change we want to see!

    • “I see many more supporters coming with younger generations. In time, those generations will be our apostles and prophets. My worry is that those people will be discouraged and leave a church they believe in just because ignorant members alienate them for being different.”

      I really hope they won’t feel alienated because change needs to happen.

What do you think? Share your thoughts

