12 comments on “Holidays for the gays (and a wedding or two)

  1. No Christmas is happening until we get those cats into santa hats and pose them for a family card. What will the neighbors think if we don’t? You snicker while I type this like I’m not serious. I totally am.

  2. It makes me really sad to think of some of the challenges you face with some family members. I’ve faced it with one of my sisters and her family. My gay partnered brother has as well. She doesn’t even want to begin to understand us. And then there’s my uncle who, now in his 60’s, finally summoned the courage to tell his siblings that the man living with him is more than his house guest. I cannot imagine the hurt and shame he has felt all these years, fearing the rejection of family should they know his secret. I pray this season is good for you. I pray your family will soften and acknowledge the humanity and goodness in both you and Dan.

  3. I’m not a cat person but even I would enjoy seeing cats in Santa hats. No time to train them to pull a sleigh? Looking forward to meeting Dan.

  4. It would probably be naïve to say that no one in your family cares that you’re married to a man and that all of them are totally comfortable with it. I sincerely hope you know though, that you do have family that it doesn’t matter to, that accepts you and your partner and are happy that you have found someone who makes you happy. Sometimes people need a reason to start down a path of understanding and acceptance toward situations that make them uncomfortable or that they are unfamiliar with. By suggesting that Dan be introduced as a friend or a roommate, I think G. isn’t giving his family that opportunity and frankly not giving us enough credit.

    It’s definitely not easy being a trailblazer but I hope you and Dan come to all these family celebrations open about your relationship and are willing to share your happiness with us.

    • Danielle, thank you for your kind comments and especially the invitation to be more open. It makes me feel a lot more comfortable with the prospect of showing up to family outings with Dan. You’re awesome!

      • Ryan,

        Danielle is right. You do have family that it doesn’t matter to at all. I am so happy for you! I think it’s amazing that you are who you are. You shouldn’t have to hide it at family events. I get it though, some members of our family can be judgemental (probably not mean though just ignorant), but give them a week and there will be something new to talk about. All that matters is that you’re happy and that you live your life honestly. You definitely shouldn’t feel weird about inviting him to family events, nobody else has to worry about inviting their significant other and you shouldn’t either. Please don’t introduce him to my family as your roommate or friend 🙂

  5. Pingback: Family: Isn’t it about time? | A not so different view

  6. Pingback: 2011 top search terms that found my blog « unambiguous

What do you think? Share your thoughts

