8 comments on “The (gay) Mormon pursuit of happiness: find the box that’s gay and crush it

  1. I CAN’T STAND that the church still sometimes recommends that gay Mormon men marry a woman. Horrible, horrible, horrible. If I ever have a daughter, I want her to be with someone who can love her completely. The fact that the church doesn’t care about the women it sentences to dysfunctional marriages makes me really angry. Is this still the standard recommendation or have enough marriages fallen to shambles that the updated recommendation is to recommend that gay LDS men just become monks?

    Also, LOLZ at the idea of touching camp. That’d be a great movie plot for the right audience. 😛 But it’s also not funny. Sorry.

    • There’s an interview with Wickman and Oaks in which, if I remember right, they say gay men shouldn’t marry women. HOWEVER, I participated in gay Mormon support groups and virtually all discussions are geared toward directing gay Mormon men toward “mixed-orientation marriages”. If you wanna know the mind frame of gay Mormon guys on the issue, go here.

      And… if you make the movie, I’ll watch it. And laugh.

  2. “You will rise with normal attractions for the opposite sex” – is that supposed to be some kind of innuendo?

    But to respond to your post: yeah. (I think I was even at that fireside with the guy talking about leaving the “gay lifestyle” behind. I had similar thoughts.)

    I’m sorry it’s this way. It sucks.

  3. Be careful, Ryan: they didn’t say gay men shouldn’t ever marry women. They said, basically, that gay men shouldn’t marry women either as an attempt to resolve homosexuality or under false pretenses. Oaks said: “On the other hand, persons who have cleansed themselves of any transgression and who have shown their ability to deal with these feelings or inclinations and put them in the background, and feel a great attraction for a daughter of God and therefore desire to enter marriage and have children and enjoy the blessings of eternity — that’s a situation when marriage would be appropriate.” Presumably, the term “persons”, in this case, does not include women. Just to clarify. 🙂

    • Thanks for the clarification, JJ. I thought about going back and reading the interview just to be sure (because it did sound a little too good to be true) but I’m glad you did it so I didn’t have to 🙂

  4. Pingback: 2011 top search terms that found my blog « unambiguous

  5. Pingback: North Star | Dad's Primal Scream

What do you think? Share your thoughts

